Timing Chain Replacement Help

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

burbistheword

Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm a newbie to engine maintenance so this might be a simple answer but I'm currently replacing my timing chain because the cover was leaking. My question is about the crankshaft sprocket. I removed the camshaft sprocket and chain but as I was removing the crank sprocket with a two jaw puller it rotated clockwise a bit and I stopped in my tracks. How do I go about getting it back in line without possibly messing up the timing? Thanks in advance!

GoToGuy

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
What caused you to replace timing chain and gears? A three arm puller for an even pull. And hold the puller to counteract the turning force for puller. It would only turn on crank if clear of woodruff key.
If your a noob , you should absolutely be using the Factory service manual. It's a process and learning guide especially in your case. Do right the first time.
There is a sticky above to the free PDF downloads of your year truck.
Next time start with , Year, Make, model, Eng etc. They all look the same until you open the doors and hood.

movietvet

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Military
Reaction score
You can slide the keyed old sprocket back on and turn the crank back. As long as you end up with dot to dot, you should be ok.

In the future, you should supply vehicle/engine info with your posts. You can put the info in your signature, so it is always viewable.

PlayingWithTBI

2022 Truck of the Year
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Just to clarify what everyone else is saying, there's a Woodruff Key on the crank which keeps the sprocket from going on/off any other way but the right way. It doesn't matter if the crank rotates a little. Then when installing the new sprockets put them on and align dot to dot, crank to cam gears. :33: