LS swap

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

macpeppers

Reaction score
my 1989 K1500/auto is tired and i'm looking at an LS/auto trans swap. i've done a camaro LS/6speed into a car, but i have no experience with trucks, Auto, and 4x4. what would be a good engine/trans combo to start looking at? do i need truck engine or could i use maybe camaro engine/trans. this project won't be used for much, but i'd like it to nice and have a little pep. i'm going to try to buy a complete donor car/truck. thanks

Drunkcanuk

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
xc_hide_links_from_guests_guests_error_hide_media

This is my go to video series to share with people who ask the same questions you did.
He goes through a lot of stuff, especially the wiring.

Id like to think of you have done one beo, then it should be pretty easy.

Probably cheapest to find a full donor truck one would think.

L31MaxExpress

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Are those the "LT" motors?
Isn't there something to do with they don't have power steering pumps anymore?
GenIV is not a LT engine that would Gen V. The HD trucks and Vans still have a power steering pump in GenV. The later model GenV based LV3 4.3L also have a hydraulic steering setup in the vans. The 4.3L can easily be an acessory donor for a L83 or L86.

Drunkcanuk

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
GenIV is not a LT engine that would Gen V. The HD trucks and Vans still have a power steering pump in GenV. The later model GenV based LV3 4.3L also have a hydraulic steering setup in the vans. The 4.3L can easily be an acessory donor for a L83 or L86.
Doh!!! Damn Roman numerals got me again!!! Lol
And now my memory is jogged about the HD's and vans ...I believe you educated me on this a while ago!!! Fuzzy memory!!! Lol
Thanks!
And good tip about the accessory drive doner.

L31MaxExpress

I'm Awesome
Reaction score