1994 TBI 350 Stretched Timing Chain

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

megafan0258

Reaction score
Hello all!

Long time thread lurker here.

I've been chasing a problem with my 94' for over 2 years now. It began as an idle surging issue, developed into "laggy" throttle response and has ended in a lean back firing issue.

After replacing and testing and replacing and testing part after part, checking all my grounds, I finally did a compression test. These are my results:

8-148 7-152
6-152 5-145
4-147 3-150
2-150 1-140

I performed this cold due to having headers. I put some oil in 1 being the outlier and it rose to 150. Considering the engine has 180,000 miles and a questionable maintenance history, I am pretty happy with that.

I got sick of waiting for my ALDL cable to ship from RedDevilRiver so I cracked open the timing cover and found a nice surprise. The Ole man kept telling me it's a timing issue and that the chain is stretched. I'm thinking he was right.

Looking for input from others on their experiences with timing chain stretch.

Thanks!

Attachments

• Screenshot_20240903_093642_Gallery.jpg
    Screenshot_20240903_093642_Gallery.jpg
    191.1 KB · Views: 28
  • Screenshot_20240903_093700_Gallery.jpg
    Screenshot_20240903_093700_Gallery.jpg
    208.4 KB · Views: 28

Schurkey

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I've seen WAY worse.

Chain slapping so hard that it wears a hole in the timing cover, for example.

It's opened-up, I guess you might as well toss a (quality!) timing set in there. DEGREE THE CAM when you do.