Peanut port 454 build assistance/help

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Reaction score
I'm going to start out with saying I'm a complete newbie to anything other than: rebuilding a transfer case, doing brakes, stock suspension replacements, and routine maintenance(ig water pump replacement)
I have loved obs burbs my whole life. I have 2 of them (350 tbi and 454 tbi) I wanted to rebuild my engines. The 350 I'm going to just do stock and I have a manual for that it's got 350k+ on it. But for the 454 I'd like to pep it up just a little bit. Not trying to broke. Got bills to pay. The only problem is, I have no idea where to start. I don't really wanna mess with carb stuff.

I read just throw a cam in or upgrade to the vortec heads. But that seems to leave out a lot of detail. It seems there is a lot more than pulling the engine and throwing a new cam in with stock everything else unless I'm wrong. Same with the vortec heads. I'd have to change the intake and fuel distribution system right? Can someone help me find what I'm looking for? Like a part # of things and what ancillary parts will have to be changed. Idk if the stock ECU can be tuned at all. I'm very lost and have spent countless hours on forums, but it seems I'm at a much lower level of knowledge basin than what I seem to need to accomplish a seemingly simple upgrade.

If someone can point me in the right direction to find part # or a guide on what lobe separation is and all of that so I can finally just bring a little more life to that aged 454 I got that would be great. I may not be the smartest guy, but I can read instructions. Thank you again for your time.

Schurkey

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
WHAT VEHICLE? Low- or high-pressure TBI?