Howdy, machinist by trade, jack at mechanics.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

big bird

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Aerospace machinist, have made everything from chicken house floor scrapers to parts on the space station. CNC programmer, manufacturing consultant, about to just build my own shop and be done with the rat race.

We're moving from the deep south to Pennsylvania. Have bought a 1920's farmhouse with 9 acres left. Has 1.5 acres separated and industrial zoned and powered. Will build my shop there. Deer are thick as flies, apple trees, blueberries and a small vineyard. It's our heaven.

Bought a '98 Chevy 3500 box truck that is giving some trouble. She's being used to move us, and then for shop and home. Son and I are making the trips, currently in Elizabethtown, KY with a breakdown.

Daily driver is a '98 Ranger v6 extended cab.

I've owned 5 vehicles, '65 Chevy fleetside pickup I6, '97 Ranger I4 (sold due to brakes, AC, and dating after divorce), 2011 Chevy Malibu I4 (lost in a flash flood), '98 Ranger, '98 Chevy box truck we call Big Bird.

I have Starrett measuring tools and a Kennedy toolbox bought with my own money as the unions were killed. Have a pre-1944 Atlas Craftsman lathe and milling attachment that is my favorite toy.

Drunkcanuk

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Sounds like you have a busy time ahead of you!!
Followed along on your breakdown, glad it made the trip.
These trucks are like kids, love them, but they certainly try your patience at time!!! Lol
Can't wait to follow along with your journey of not only the truck, but also getting your new shop up and running.

Oh....and welcome from Alberta Canada

HotWheelsBurban

Gotta have 4 doors..... Rawhide, TOTY 2023!
Reaction score