94 C1500 TBI and 4l60E transmission to mechanical swap

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

KilRoyWasHere

Reaction score
Howdy everyone!

So I'm new to forums and so if I failed to place this in the right spot please let me know I'll try to fix it. But the title basically sums up what I'm trying to do. I'm not new to mechanic work, especially on this truck but I am new to swapping engines and some littler things. Let me explain why I'm going with this rout instead of just replacing the computer for anyone that might get hung up on me just doing that. I have a 94 Silverado C1500 that the computer is giving me fits in and I would like to make it more mechanical. The L05 that it has in it is a good engine but I'm not sure how long it has left without a rebuild being needed and the same can be said for the 4L60E tranny. So what I'm thinking is swapping the engine for a ATK build and the transmission with an 700R4 from Mad Dog. That way I can get the truck back up and running quick without out any future interventions needed and give myself some time to figure out what to do with the old engine and tranny. This is just going to be a street/highway truck, I'm not going to races with it or anything but I do like to go fast on occasions. And if I do decide to just rebuild them and put them back in with a new computer I'll still have the ATK engine and Mad Dog transmission ready to go for a fun build.

Questions

#1 Will the engine I picked work and will I have any problems making it fit?
This is the engine I'm looking at using, basically a L31 block rebuilt with a carb and mechanical fuel pump. It should fit right in without any problems as far as I'm aware that is. If yall know of any hiccups I might run into please let me know.

#2 Will the transmission I picked work and will I have any problems making it fit?